EliteTeQ POS vs Kaunta POS: Which Is Better for Your Tanzania Business?
Last updated: March 2026 | Based on publicly available pricing and feature data
Kaunta and EliteTeQ are both POS and inventory systems used in Tanzania. Kaunta is a local point of sale system priced monthly in shillings, with plans by number of users. EliteTeQ is cloud POS and ERP with full offline mode, multi-branch stock and TRA tax records.
Quick Verdict
Choose Kaunta if you want a local system with a monthly price in shillings for one shop. Choose EliteTeQ if you need multi-branch stock on any plan, confirmed offline selling, or TRA VFD/EFD integration.
Feature-by-Feature Comparison
| Feature | EliteTeQ POS | Kaunta POS |
|---|---|---|
| What it is | Cloud POS + inventory + ERP | POS + inventory |
| Offline selling | Full offline mode, syncs later | Not stated on product pages |
| Locations | Multi-branch with stock transfers | Multi-location from the Professional plan |
| Users | Scales with your team | Starter up to 5, Professional up to 25 |
| Payments recorded | M-Pesa, Tigo Pesa, Airtel Money, card and cash against the same sale | Not stated |
| TRA tax | TRA-ready VAT reports; can integrate with TRA VFD/EFD | Not stated |
| Trial | Free demo with your own products | Free trial (length not stated) |
Pricing Comparison
EliteTeQ POS
From $499/year
Cloud subscription that scales with branches, products and users. Free setup and data migration.
Kaunta POS
TZS 30,000–65,000/month
Starter TZS 30,000 and Professional TZS 65,000 per month; Enterprise TZS 1,500,000.
Who Should Choose Which?
Choose EliteTeQ if you need:
- Businesses with several branches moving stock between them
- Shops that must keep selling when the internet drops
- Businesses that need TRA VFD/EFD integration
- Owners who want setup and data migration done for them
Choose Kaunta POS if you need:
- Single shops paying monthly in shillings
- Small teams of up to five users
- Businesses that want a local Tanzanian vendor
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does Kaunta cost compared with EliteTeQ?
Kaunta lists Starter at TZS 30,000 and Professional at TZS 65,000 a month. EliteTeQ starts from USD 499 per year with free setup and data migration. Prices checked 2 October 2026.
Does Kaunta work offline?
Kaunta’s product pages do not state an offline mode. EliteTeQ runs fully offline and syncs when the connection returns.
Which is better for several branches?
EliteTeQ includes multi-branch stock and transfers. Kaunta adds multi-location from its Professional plan.
Do both handle TRA VFD/EFD?
EliteTeQ can integrate with TRA VFD/EFD. We found no TRA fiscal device claim on the Kaunta website.