# EliteTeQ vs Kaunta: Which POS Is Better in Tanzania? (2026)

Kaunta and EliteTeQ are both POS and inventory systems used in Tanzania. Kaunta is a local point of sale system priced monthly in shillings, with plans by number of users. EliteTeQ is cloud POS and ERP with full offline mode, multi-branch stock and TRA tax records.

## How They Compare

- **What it is** — EliteTeQ: Cloud POS + inventory + ERP · Kaunta POS: POS + inventory
- **Offline selling** — EliteTeQ: Full offline mode, syncs later · Kaunta POS: Not stated on product pages
- **Locations** — EliteTeQ: Multi-branch with stock transfers · Kaunta POS: Multi-location from the Professional plan
- **Users** — EliteTeQ: Scales with your team · Kaunta POS: Starter up to 5, Professional up to 25
- **Payments recorded** — EliteTeQ: M-Pesa, Tigo Pesa, Airtel Money, card and cash against the same sale · Kaunta POS: Not stated
- **TRA tax** — EliteTeQ: TRA-ready VAT reports; can integrate with TRA VFD/EFD · Kaunta POS: Not stated
- **Trial** — EliteTeQ: Free demo with your own products · Kaunta POS: Free trial (length not stated)

## Pricing

- **EliteTeQ** — From $499/year (Cloud subscription that scales with branches, products and users. Free setup and data migration.)
- **Kaunta POS** — TZS 30,000–65,000/month (Starter TZS 30,000 and Professional TZS 65,000 per month; Enterprise TZS 1,500,000.)

## Best For

**EliteTeQ:**

- Businesses with several branches moving stock between them
- Shops that must keep selling when the internet drops
- Businesses that need TRA VFD/EFD integration
- Owners who want setup and data migration done for them

**Kaunta POS:**

- Single shops paying monthly in shillings
- Small teams of up to five users
- Businesses that want a local Tanzanian vendor

## Verdict

Choose Kaunta if you want a local system with a monthly price in shillings for one shop. Choose EliteTeQ if you need multi-branch stock on any plan, confirmed offline selling, or TRA VFD/EFD integration.

## Frequently Asked Questions

- **How much does Kaunta cost compared with EliteTeQ?** Kaunta lists Starter at TZS 30,000 and Professional at TZS 65,000 a month. EliteTeQ starts from USD 499 per year with free setup and data migration. Prices checked 2 October 2026.
- **Does Kaunta work offline?** Kaunta’s product pages do not state an offline mode. EliteTeQ runs fully offline and syncs when the connection returns.
- **Which is better for several branches?** EliteTeQ includes multi-branch stock and transfers. Kaunta adds multi-location from its Professional plan.
- **Do both handle TRA VFD/EFD?** EliteTeQ can integrate with TRA VFD/EFD. We found no TRA fiscal device claim on the Kaunta website.

## Get Started

Book a free demo, or talk to a local POS expert in Tanzania.

- Phone: +254 791 313 683
- Email: info@eliteteqpos.com
- Web: https://eliteteqpos.com/tz/pos-comparisons/eliteteq-vs-kaunta/
